Concerto for two trombones and orchestra



Concerto for two trombones and orchestra composed by Ricardo Mollá.

Date of composition



  1. Maestoso / Presto.
  2. Lento.
  3. Vivo.


For two tenor trombones (or a tenor trombone and a bass trombone) and orchestra.

The orchestra consists of:

  • Piccolo.
  • Flute I, II.
  • Oboe I, II.
  • English horn.
  • Clarinet in Bb I, II.
  • Alto saxophone.
  • Basson I, II.
  • Horn in F I, II, III, IV.
  • Trumpet in Bb I, II.
  • Tenor trombone I, II.
  • Bass trombone.
  • Tuba.
  • Timpani.
  • Percussion 1: triangle and whip.
  • Percussion 2: suspended cymbal, snare drum and bass drum.
  • Bongos.
  • Tubular bells.
  • Glockenspiel.
  • Xylophone.
  • Piano.
  • String section: violins I, violins II, violas, cellos y contrabasses.



Additional information about the Concerto for two trombones and orchestra

Commissioned by the International Trombone Festival (ITF) 2015 hosted in Valencia. The piece is dedicated to Jörgen van Rijen (principal trombone of Concertgebouw Orchestra) and Michel Becquet (Professor of the Conservatory of  Lyon).

Premiered on 14  July 2015 by Jörgen van Rijen, Michel Becquet and the Valencia Symphony Orchestra, conducted by  Gaspar Sanchís. It was the last piece of the final ITF’s Concert.


Listen to the piece


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Concerto for two trombones and orchestra”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *