Kilimanjaro for brass ensemble and percussion


Kilimanjaro for brass ensemble and percussion by Ricardo Mollá


Kilimanjaro is a new composition for brass and percussion ensemble composed by Ricardo Mollá and commissioned by the Symphony Orchestra of the Region of Murcia. This is not the first time Ricardo has composed for this type of ensemble, as he has previously written pieces such as “The Guiding Star,” premiered by the New York Philharmonic, and “Fanfare for a New Beginning,” premiered by the Los Angeles Philharmonic. However, it is undoubtedly his longest work for brass ensemble, lasting almost fifteen minutes.

The piece consists of three movements: “Kofi’s Journey,” “Ritual Massai,” and “Kilimanjaro.” It tells the fictional story of Kofi, a young member of the Chagga tribe, who travels to Kilimanjaro to pick a special flower called the “Summit Flower” to prove his bravery to his tribe. On his journey, Kofi passes through various characteristic areas of the region such as the Rainforest, the Mountain Forest, and the Arid Plain, and encounters the Massai tribe, who help him on his quest. The music is inspired by African musical culture, with a special emphasis on percussion instruments, and uses characteristic rhythms and motifs from this culture.

Year of Composition:

Three movements:

I. Kofi’s Journey

II. Ritual Massai

III. Kilimanjaro

Approximate Duration:
15 minutes

Brass and percussion ensemble:

– 4 horns
– 3 B-flat trumpets
– Flugelhorn
– 3 tenor trombones
– Bass trombone
– Tuba

Timpani and three percussion parts:

  • Percussion 1: Glockenspiel, tambourine, suspended cymbal, marimba, tubular bells (III), and snare drum (III).
  • Percussion 2: Vibraphone, gong, tubular bells, snare drum, xylophone, bongos, crotales, and wind chimes.
  • Percussion 3: Wind chimes, cymbals, bongos, drums, triangle, snare drum, hi-hat, and bass drum.

Listen to the piece

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Kilimanjaro for brass ensemble and percussion”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *