Finisterrai, concerto for trumpet, trombone and orchestra


Finisterrai, concerto for trumpet, trombone and orchestra composed by Ricardo Mollá


Finisterrai is a trumpet and trombone concerto composed by Ricardo Mollá. This composition was commissioned and dedicated to Esteban Batallán, Principal Trumpet of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra; and Alberto Urretxo. Finisterrai was premiered on December 22, 2022, at the Euskalduna Place with the Bilbao Symphony Orchestra (BOS) under the direction of José Rafael Pascual Vilaplana.

Year of composition



Three movements:

I. On the top of Cape Finistere.

II. Memories.

III. The last Adventure.

Approximate duration



Solo trumpet and solo trombone.

Woodwinds: 3 (I. Picc.), 2 (II. Ob. & En. Hn), 2, 2

Brass: 3, 4, 3, 1

Percussion: timpani plus three percussion parts:

Percussion I: suspended cymbal, gong, triangle, cymbals, tambourine, vibraphone, snare drum, metal curtain. Percussion II: triangle, vibraphone, tubular bells, metal curtain, snare drum, sleigh bells, suspended cymbal, bass drum. Percussion III: lyre, claves, tubular bells, metal curtain, triangle, bongos.

Harp or piano.


Listen to Finisterrai, concerto for trumpet, trombone, and orchestra.

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Finisterrai, concerto for trumpet, trombone and orchestra”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *