The Unkown Soldier, concerto for euphonium and windband


The Unkown Soldier, concerto for euphonium and windband composed by Ricardo Mollá and dedicated to Bastien Baumet


The Unknown Soldier is a concerto for euphonium and band composed by Ricardo Mollá and dedicated to the international soloist Bastien Baumet, professor at the Conservatoire Supérieur de Lyon. This piece was commissioned by l’Orchestre d’Harmonie de la Ville du Havre.

The composition refers to the figure of the unknown soldier, a monument that honors soldiers who died in war and whose remains have not been identified. The idea of the unknown soldier arose after World War I, when many soldiers died in battle and their bodies were never recovered or identified. In response to this tragedy, monuments were created to honor those who gave their lives for their country and whose remains were never found.

This piece aims to highlight the figure of the unknown soldier as a universal symbol of sacrifice and bravery. Through the three movements of this concerto, one anonymous story of soldiers who gave their lives in the hope of finding a better future is told through music. Moreover, it is worth mentioning that this story takes place in one of the most representative war zones of World War II: Normandy and the entire coast of Le Havre.

Year of composition: 2023

Movements: Three movements:

I. Battle II. Resurrection III. The Untold Story

Approximate duration: 18′


Woodwinds: 3 Fl. (Picc. (I)), 2 Ob., 4 Cl. (Bass Cl. (IV), 4 Sax. (Tenor Sax. (III), Baritone Sax. (IV), 2 Bssn.

Brass: 3 Trpt., 2 Flhn., 4 Hn., 3 Tbn., 2 Euph., Tuba, Double Bass (Optional)


Timpani and 4 percussion parts:

Percussion I: Marimba, Crotales, Lyra, Vibraphone, Gong, Cymbals, Suspended Cymbal and Xylophone (III).

Percussion II: Bass Drum, Tambourine, Suspended Cymbal, Curtain, Triangle, Gong (III), Jingles, Tubular Bells (III), Vibraphone (III), Claves (III) and Cajon (III).

Percussion III: Snare Drum, Bongos, Triangle, Cymbals, Tubular Bells, Claves, Curtain (III), Castanets (III), Tambourine (III).

Percussion IV (tacet movement I): Suspended Cymbal, Cymbals and Bongos.

Piano (or Harp).

Listen to The Unknown Soldier

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Unkown Soldier, concerto for euphonium and windband”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *